AWI Quality Certification Program logo
Follow Us:

About QCP

Quality Certification Corporation

Incorporated in early 2007, The AWI Quality Certification Corporation (QCC) is an autonomous organization which administers the AWI Quality Certification Program (QCP). QCC is a 501(c)6 trade association headquartered in Northern Virginia, just outside of Washington, DC.

The QCC board of directors is comprised of industry representatives from the architectural woodworking, construction and architectural professions. The board sets corporate policies as it pertains to governance and fiduciary responsibility. Through its oversight of operations, it verifies compliance with federal and local laws, and with the credentialing industry's best practices.

It is the mission of the QCC to verify, inspect, and report compliance with published woodwork industry standards. It is the vision of the QCP to be the recognized compliance assurance process for the architectural woodwork industry.


Quality Certification Program

The AWI Quality Certification Program (QCP) is a valuable quality assurance tool for interior architectural woodwork, one of the most highly visible aspects of many construction projects. QCP assesses whether the millwork provided meets the project's specifications and industry standards. The American Subcontractors Association (ASA) endorses the QCP.

Woodworking firms earn specific QCP licenses through a process of written testing and evaluation of samples and actual projects demonstrating the ability to fabricate, finish and/or install various categories of millwork per quality grade criteria set forth in the Standards.

The Architectural Woodwork Institute first published the Architectural Woodwork Quality Standards Illustrated (QSI) in 1961. It evolved over the years into the Eighth Edition and served as the authoritative resource for specifying interior architectural woodwork.

In 2009, a new standard replaced the QSI. Jointly published as a unified standard by the Architectural Woodwork Institute (AWI), the Architectural Woodwork Manufacturers Association of Canada (AWMAC) and the Woodwork Institute (WI), the Architectural Woodwork Standards (AWS) superseded both the QSI, and WI's Manual of Millwork (MM). Like the QSI, the AWS contains technical and design illustrations and addresses all facets of architectural woodwork, from raw lumber and veneer through factory finishing and installation. A second edition of the AWS was published in the Fall of 2014.